There are two main requirements for making your syllabus available to students:
- The syllabus must have a Course Information section with the correct course selected.
- Share Status must be changed to “All enrolled in course.”
Topics in this guide
- The course information section
- Share status
- Advanced sharing
- Linking your syllabus to iLearn
- What a student sees when they sign into Syllabus
The Course Information section
- The Course Information section allows users to link a syllabus to a course and course section. To learn how to link your syllabus, view the Linking a syllabus to a course section help doc.
- Once a syllabus has a Course Information section and is linked to a course and course section, proceed to change the Share Status.
- From the Overview, Courses, Edit, or View pages, select the Share Toggle to change your syllabus’ Share Status.
Note: The Share Status option of “Only course instructors (private)” is set as the default, meaning only you and other instructors of this course section can view the syllabus.
- Once the Share Status is set to “Shared,” you will see the toggler change green and the button with the arrow icon becomes available to select.
- Select the button with the arrow icon to quickly copy the View URL for that syllabus. This URL can be added to your iLearn course as a URL Resource. Enrolled students are the only ones who are able to view the syllabus with this URL.
- On the Advanced Sharing page, you can generate a Public View URL, which will allow anyone with the link to view the syllabus.
Note: The Public View URL may be disabled at any time by selecting the toggle to change the value from “Enabled” to “Disabled."
Disabled Public View URL:
Enabled Public View URL:
- From the section titled, Grant Edit Access, you may search for any Syllabus application user and grant them permission to edit this syllabus, even students. Enter in their name, email, or SF State ID and you will see names begin to appear below the text input. Select the name of the user you wish to choose.
- Next, you may select how long you’d like this user to be able to edit your syllabus.
- Finally, select the button labeled, “Add as Editor.” If you scroll back down after the page reloads, you will see this user’s info and remaining time left to be able to edit this syllabus. Selecting the button labeled, “Revoke” will immediately remove the user’s editing privileges.
Linking your syllabus to iLearn
Once your syllabus is shared with all enrolled in your course, you will see a new setting in your course settings within iLearn.
- Navigate to your iLearn course
- Select the gear wheel(⚙️) in the upper right corner of your course page, then select Edit settings
- At the very bottom of the page, a new section titled Online Syllabus appears. Select Yes in Show Link to Online Syllabus
- The link to the syllabus will appear in the drawer on the left
What a student sees when they sign into Syllabus
When a student signs into the Syllabus application, they see all of their courses arranged by semester. If a syllabus has been created for a course of theirs, as well as shared with “All enrolled in course,” then they will be able to access the syllabus. They are also able to view, download as a Word document, and print.
For additional assistance, contact the iLearn Help Desk: (415) 405-5555, firstname.lastname@example.org, LIB 220